A Certain Feeling

16 Oct

There’s a certain feeling  I get, knowing you were in my bed with me last night. It doesn’t even matter that you may never be again. Because tonight I can smell you on my pillows and this morning I laughed as I realized the extraneous patience I had for untangling the sideways blanket and sheets while making the bed which you do so much more efficiently than me.

Too bad we slept in this morning. I’m happy you traded breakfast for that new position though. Reminds me of a pair of scissors when I look back at your hands on my hips. Your body splitting me in two at the waist. The dreamy gaze your eyes blink back when you hit the snooze button one more time and the spot that makes us both gasp and smile warm, cottony smiles at each other as we pull back the sheets again.

In fact, I’m glad you’re not here. It gives me time to remember the way you laced your fingers in mine as we sweat ourselves to sleep. How you asked me to come for you again and again because you like it. How hard you worked not to. How you leaned in for one last kiss before unconsciousness took over. How you pulled me close entwining your legs with my legs, your feet with my feet.

I like it like that. One for you and four for me. Although, if you were here I would have proof it was not a dream. And if it was, I am so glad I am right here in the perfect place to recreate it. Here again in my bed, the sheets now neatly tucked under the pillow on one side. My hands are your hands between my legs. I’m wet just thinking about you but you know that from experience.

The fruit was good. Thank you. Last night your flesh was a ripe, purple plum between my teeth and this morning I ate you again for breakfast.

One Response to “A Certain Feeling”

  1. jessicalle October 16, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    I love that WP just offered to add “healthy-living and diy” as suggested tags for this post. Sure thing! Absolutely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

